NEW podcast Series – Thoughts on Erdnase

Check THIS out:

This is my very first podcast. I recorded this with my good friends Alex Slemmer and Steve Johnson. We did it at Steve’s store, my favorite magic shop on the west coast – Grand Illusions. If you’re ever up in the Sacramento area, make sure to stop by and say hello.

If you’re in the area, make sure to come to my lecture at Grand Illusions on March 19 – I’ll be  signing copies of my new DVD, Search & Destroy featuring The Nowhere Pass.

After you listen to the podcast, post a comment with your thoughts! I’d love to read them.

8 Responses to “NEW podcast Series – Thoughts on Erdnase”


  1. 1 Llynus March 7, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Damnit Aaron!

    I listened to the first two Erdnase podcasts yesterday, I thought I’d struck it lucky with a third =D

    It was a very interesting listen, and it did make me dig out my dusty copy of “Expert” and give it another go; so thank you very much.

    Is there anyway I can subscribe to the podcast?

    Does it support RSS?

    Kindest regards,

    Llynus

    Aaron’s Answer:

    I believe if you click on the feed in the homepage, you’ll go to a subscription page. Let me know if it works!

  2. 2 Llynus March 7, 2009 at 10:57 pm

    Sorry for the double post, but something I was thinking about yesterday that I thought might be worth highlighting.

    I was playing with the 4th method for Blind False Shuffling, but I have never seen anyone shuffle that way. Does that mean that you would have to establish the idea that this is the way you shuffle cards?

    Also this is a possible weakness that isn’t shared by false shuffles derived from the Overhand and Riffle shuffles, so wouldn’t it make more sense to master the false versions of the shuffles in common use?

    Aaron’s Answer:

    I take your point, and you may well choose to establish it if you feel it’s necessary. I for one have seen people shuffle that way. Besides, the sleight in question is very handy for studying other false shuffles.

    Finally – Most of the more ‘standard’ approaches will take a few years to learn from scratch. Perhaps people might use an effective method in the meantime?

    With thanks,
    Aaron

  3. 3 Jeffrey Tong March 8, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Thanks for the great lessons, though who exactly is you’re audience for this podcast? Beginners or advanced magicians?

    Answer from Aaron:

    Hi Jeffrey – I would say this is an intermediate episode. Beginner’s won’t NEED it, though they may find it interesting to think about. Intermediates DO need it, because it will give them information they need to go to the higher levels.

    With Thanks,
    Aaron

  4. 4 Stefano March 8, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    Hello Aaron,
    Thank you for your comments about Erdnase book, I found very interested something to think about…
    We should not waste our time in research the last trick or effect we should study the classics.

    All the best to all!!

  5. 5 Nikodemus March 10, 2009 at 10:12 am

    Hi,

    Good listening! A minor wish: the next time you publish a podcast, a direct link to the mp3 would be nice to have. (For listening on iPod, etc.)

  6. 6 Tony Tuccillo March 10, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Aaron – thanks for the podcast on Erdnase. From a beginner’s perspective at a minimum, for me, it’s the thinking that provides the most benefit to me.

    Certain passages I’ve heard or read over & over like, “The successful professional, failing to improve the method, changes the moment….” prompt me to think about more than just ‘doing the trick’.

    I also like your analogy between someone who becomes a modern day expert in Erdnase & the Jedi order.

  7. 7 Kris Sheppard March 17, 2009 at 4:35 am

    You might get it on iTunes, that way it’ll update automatically for those who subscribe to it.

  8. 8 Clyde March 27, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    I can’t find the podcast anywhere on the itunes store and doing a power search. I have tried aaron fisher, paper engine, magic, and a bunch of other parameters looking for it and can’t find it. In other words, HELP! 😉

    I have listened to the few on the “Watch” page and like what I’m hearing. By the way, there is no “feed” link on the home page. The one feed link I found allowed me to subscribe to it, but it offered no option to go to the podcasts in iTunes


Leave a Reply

