How Not to do the Classic Pass #3: Don’t frame up

Assuming you intend to do a classic pass as a sleight, not as a color change, visual vanish or appearance, you’ll want to avoid this common error.

3 01 - dont frame up

What’s wrong with this picture? We’ve all done it, trying to master the ‘fast’, invisible pass that so many card men seek. This is the ‘frame up’ – and whether or not you think it makes your pass look better, it almost certainly makes it feel worse. It doesn’t matter what you say, do, or where you attempt to focus the attention of your audience. If your hands are tensed and ‘framed up’ this way, your audience will focus on the source of all that tension – your hands. Remember, if you want to do a natural, unsuspicious pass – stay loose!

3 Responses to “How Not to do the Classic Pass #3: Don’t frame up”


  1. 1 Iuri ColesNik March 7, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    When I started doing the pass, 3 years ago, it was exactly like your picture, I had so much tension on my hands that it was obvious I was doing something.

    But now, I perform the Dribble Pass, based on the Erdnase with the Vernon Touch. It almost doesn’t move any fingers at all.

    The pass was made to be done in a second, I think. The second you touch deck, is the sec that the pass is already over.

    And Mr. Aaron, what you think about the one handed erdnase shift?

    (I’m Brazilian, sorry for my poor english)

    Aaron’s Answer: I LOVE the Erdnase one-hand shift. You must learn it if you want to seriously tackle this course of study!

  2. 2 Dries March 7, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Hi,

    Great blog,

    I have an idea…
    why don’t you make a blog or video or something else on
    How to do the classic pass?

    Please help me,
    i cab find nowhere a good course on the classic pass.

    Dries (D21400 on TH11)

    Aaron’s Answer: That is a great idea my friend. All good things in time…

  3. 3 Dat Lam July 21, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    I love everyone’s replies to the, it means you’re doing “something.”

    I can’t agree more. I think overall, the pass is something that shouldn’t be seen, but most people learning it, focus on the techincal and not your own body work.

    Your pass could be flawless, but if you’re “framing up,” it just looks suspicious, therefore defeating the purpose all together.

    Great tip.

    – Dat


Leave a Reply

