Gas Blues Got You Down? Welcome to Magic MetaCamp!

Here’s a candid photo of my friend Lee Asher last year at camp. As it turns out, he wasn’t in on EVERY prank after all….

Lee Asher - looks like he can be fooled after all.

Lee Asher Takes The Cake

Photo by Carey Lauder

It’s summer time, and as many readers already know, that means it’s time for camp. The Sorcerer’s Safari summer camp, about an hour north of Toronto, remains hands down the best program for kids who want serious magic education and a real summer camp experience at the same time. If you don’t know about Magic Mike and his world renowned camp, check it out now.

Let’s get down to business

While I love the classes, activities and shows we put on at Sorcerer’s Safari, I have to say my favorite activity at camp is Swim Time. I hang out under a shady tree while the more socially adjusted kids splash each other. Some kids swim. Others get to the practice of practice. Swim time is when the ‘real work’ goes down.

Campers bring their copies of Erdnase out (got to love it!) and we talk about the stuff that real sleight of hand is made of.

So for those of you who are too old to be campers (not sure I buy that premise), this is your lucky month. Post your questions about card magic, technique and the performance of sleight of hand – I’ll read all your comments, and devote blog posts to answering as many of your fascinating questions as I can.

Make ’em concise, good and thoughtful. That way, everyone will want to read the answer to your question!

With Thanks,

Aaron

15 Responses to “Gas Blues Got You Down? Welcome to Magic MetaCamp!”


  1. 1 Matt. G July 11, 2008 at 1:46 pm

    Hey Aaron,

    I guess my question would be able a new effect I’m creating. There is one moment, a split second, a spot on my left side that I would ‘flash’ to during one of the moves. For now, I’m been trying to position myself and the audience so the angles line up and that has been working for far. But I do not know what I should do when I am surrounded. Should I change the technique to a one that is less visual, but completely angle-proof when I am surrounded?

    Cheers
    Matt. G

    p.s. Caption to Asher picture
    “Hey kid, what are you doing!?! No! No! You’re only suppose to do the diving board double only with cards not!!! Oh my god, I’m created a monster.” – Lee Asher

  2. 2 Adrian July 14, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    Regarding my question:

    In the newer version of the Expert at the Card Table, Martin Gardner wrote about how Erdnase might have purposely omitted things and taught the inferior methods to sleights, such as bottom deals.

    How do I know what are the useful stuff to study and what are the stuff to ignore?

    Thanks,
    Adrian

  3. 3 Barry Fernelius July 14, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Caption:

    “I believe whatever doesn’t kill you simply makes you… stranger. ”

    -The Joker from the new movie The Dark Knight

  4. 4 Barry Fernelius July 14, 2008 at 11:55 pm

    Caption:

    “The tartness of his face sours ripe grapes.”

    -William Shakespeare

  5. 5 Barry Fernelius July 14, 2008 at 11:56 pm

    Caption:

    “I never forget a face, but in your case I’ll be glad to make an exception!”

    -Groucho Marx

  6. 6 William Neagle July 15, 2008 at 12:06 am

    Round 2:
    Asher’s new trick – burbing in technicolor!

  7. 7 Justin Shaffer July 15, 2008 at 12:52 am

    Mr. Asher does his best to perfect his new stage persona, Lee-nart Green.

  8. 8 Rikko July 15, 2008 at 4:00 am

    Round 2:

    “Kid: Hey dad look! Its the mascot of Annies Costume and Magic! Dad: Oh my god! Lets get an autograph.”

  9. 9 Micah Johnson July 15, 2008 at 4:52 am

    “The Masked Magician, unveiled at last!”

  10. 10 Nathan July 15, 2008 at 5:01 am

    “HEY, watch it! My pores are sensitive, hoe!”

  11. 11 Stephen Buxton July 15, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    The moral of the story: never annoy a face painter

  12. 12 Mark (aka Krumb on the Cafe) July 15, 2008 at 3:55 pm

    “Hell, if Clark Kent can hide behind a pair of glasses then this cake guise will work perfectly.”

  13. 13 Martin Walker July 17, 2008 at 10:31 am

    Photo caption:
    “Err, waiter…there’s a magician in my cake!!”

  14. 14 Mark Tirone July 18, 2008 at 1:22 am

    hey Aaron. Here is my second caption since u r giving us another chance.

    ” JUST RELEASED! Lee Asher’s Diving board double stuffed!!”


Leave a Reply

