Watch The Gravity Half Pass Video!

In the 6 years since the publication of the Gravity Half Pass in The Paper Engine, many workers have added the sleight to their repertoires. Further, I’ve met guys who said their own ability with the move improved greatly after watching me do the sleight in person.

After all, when you’re in the midst of serious sleight of hand study, and can be very helpful to actually see the move in action.

If you have The Paper Engine, these short clips will help you practice. With a little patience, you can achieve similar results. This sleight can be immediate, soft and all but angle proof. It looks like real magic.

Now check it out from the front!

Now that you’ve had a chance to see the move, I’d love to hear your thoughts. Does this demonstration give you a feel for how the move should really look? Drop a comment and let me know!

With Thanks,

Aaron

P.S. If you want to find out what more readers have to say about The Paper Engine, click to read the comments here.

23 Responses to “Watch The Gravity Half Pass Video!”


  1. 1 Tony Tuccillo June 17, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    Aaron – once again thanks for the help by posting the clips.

    I’m a ‘book guy’ but it’s important to me to see how a move is suppose to look before I have a high level of confidence in presenting it.

    We always here about practice but I think some, myself included, aren’t always sure if we’re learning and practicing correctly. Having a visual like the clips you posted as least allows us to see what the gravity half pass is suppose to look it.

    Thanks again and please let us here on the east coast know if you ever get to our side of the country to lecture.

    Regards,
    Tony Tuccillo

  2. 2 Erik June 17, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    For a while, I though I had gotten the move down to a decent level of perfection. I was proven wrong.

    In your hands, the move is totally invisible, and I am glad you made the clips. I now know what to aim for.

    Thanks,
    Erik

  3. 3 Christian König June 17, 2008 at 8:37 pm

    I can only say: WOW MAMA !

    Unbeleivable smooth ! Thanks for posting the clips, Aaorn !

    I get to practice NOW!

    Christian
    Germany

  4. 4 Mark McPhee June 17, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    Aaron,

    Sweet!

    It is soft, beautiful and invisible. After seeing this I will grab my copy of Paper Engine and read your description again.

    Say hi to Tom Frank for me.

    All the Best,
    -Mark McPHEE…

  5. 5 Tyler Wilson June 17, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    Photoshopped

  6. 6 JR RUSSELL June 17, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Aaron
    I met you in Jan at the “Session” in England and the tips that you gave in the workshop (along with your book) were fantastic. This clip lets me know what to shoot for. Thanks

    “JR”
    Fly Navy

  7. 7 Antonio Iturra June 17, 2008 at 9:38 pm

    Dear Aaron:

    The Half Pass looks amazing on your hands.
    Most important, it looks natural and smooth.
    The most complicated aspect of the pass is it doesn’t look too natural, but on you it looks great!
    I like there aren’t sudden or quick movements, and no jerking from the hand.
    A great move indeed, and in the correct moment, it must be great.

    As always, the most important from the pass is what Erdnase said, when you can’t change the method, you change the moment.

    The best moment to use this is on the off beat (although I’m sure people won’t notice it when burning your hands).

    I hope I can get your book any time soon and learn this sleight.
    Best to you,

    Antonio

  8. 8 Steve June 17, 2008 at 9:39 pm

    Looking at these clips help me understand more how the movement should be done with ease and invisibility. This will help me practice the move correctly now I know how it should look like. Thank you aaron for sharing these clips.

    “Qban Linx”

  9. 9 Aaron Kowitz June 17, 2008 at 10:17 pm

    Widespread Panic?

  10. 10 Dave Egleston June 17, 2008 at 10:23 pm

    In the right hands and the proper application…… This sleight could work.

    Dave

  11. 11 BJ Bueno June 17, 2008 at 10:39 pm

    Nice. Great choice of music.

  12. 12 Thierry June 17, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    Thank you for posting this.
    I’ve been working on the gravity half pass for quite some time. My magician friends told me I had it down and it looked invisible. But after seeing you performing it, I know I have to get back to practice again.

  13. 13 Tim Flynn June 17, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Right on, right on! right on!
    Aaron you rock, we used to have a quarterback for the Seahawks, Dave Kreig, he holds the record for fumbles in the NFL. We nick named him fumblelina…
    That is how my GHP feels. I feel like fumblelina doing it. Thanks for the wonderful view of it in the masters hands, Now I want to see the owner of that beautiful red suede covered table that I built do it! C’mon Tom!
    C’est tres bien!

  14. 14 Scotty Chase June 17, 2008 at 10:55 pm

    Just amazing. Back to practicing for me

  15. 15 markjens June 17, 2008 at 11:19 pm

    Aaron,
    I have just been working my way through The Paper Engine again, so your clips come right on time. While we all know what to look for, I don’t think that any laymen would be overly quick to make assumptions. I’ll let you know when my h/p is up to snuff. Oh – don’t hold your breath, I’m a long way from yours.

    Thanks again,

    Mark

  16. 16 Justin Fraser June 18, 2008 at 2:21 am

    Smooth as silk. I remember running into you down at the Minniapolis convention a few years back and you telling me that you changed the handling a bit. Now for the life of me i can’t remember what the finesse points were. But i do remember your advice on the classic pass and it has been worth it’s weight in gold. All the best my friend.

  17. 17 Lucas June 18, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Really great performance, especially the from-the-front view, I never thought it could be done at such a level. Thanks a lot, maybe other moves will follow ? 😉

  18. 18 kit June 18, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    dear aaron,

    what a coincidence! i received the paper engine some weeks ago and have been busy practicing the gravity half pass. i actually thought of filming myself doing this sleight and let you comment on it only a couple of days ago, as i was interested in your opinion and whether i execute the half pass correctly.

    since i have no video camera i would have asked friends to help me out – anyways you beat me to it!

    i find the material in the paper engine quite stunning. are you working on another book?

    all the best,
    kit

  19. 19 liam June 18, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    is that the move you used at the beggining of the panic dvd?

  20. 20 Joe Givan June 18, 2008 at 6:41 pm

    Okay – I agree with Tyler’s assessment – photoshop. Also – Widespead Panic?!?! You left me with plenty of that band, and I must say that doing this move must leave many “panicking” obout doing a “Wide Spread”. Great job, Fisher!

    Joe Givan

  21. 21 KCKEVIN June 20, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Flawless front & back. Very, very nice.

  22. 22 Al June 28, 2008 at 2:13 pm

    Hey Aaron,
    It’s cool to watch you do the pass on video. For anyone who has not worked with the sleight, it is beautifully taught in detail in Aaron’s book. That’s where I learned it and even (I’m going to brag) got the seal of approval from Aaron himself!!!!!

  23. 23 Kent Gunn July 30, 2008 at 3:30 am

    It’s like butta, freakin’ butta. You are the past-master of the half-pass.

    KG


Leave a Reply

