Lee Asher Comes to Hollywood – All bets are off.

Lee Asher came to Los Angeles last night to visit for a few days. We first became friends when we went to college together, in a town noted for academic rigor – Las Vegas.

In those days, everything centered on close-up magic. Sure, we had classes too. But this wasn’t an ordinary college. In the gaming library, UNLV had a complete collection of Marlo Manuscripts. Allan Ackerman was a professor we could seek out on campus – he had office hours. After class I’d go over to Lee’s apartment, just next to the Hard Rock Hotel. We’d either be practicing, performing or hanging with the best magicians from all over the world.

Ah..college days.

These days the old gang gets together mostly for work related activities – gigs, conventions, magic camp. During work visits, someone’s always leaving the party for two hours to go lecture, or do a show. That sort of thing can really disturb the flow of a session.

Three Days to Blastoff…

Starting next week I’m working constantly for the next month. First, I’ll do half-pass workshops at the Session Convention, followed by a brief lectures series in the UK. Then I’ll return for a few corporate events in Las Vegas, and then return to Los Angeles and the main stage of the Magic Castle. I’m planning to release my new trick, Panic’s little brother, after I return from the UK.

So for the next three days, I’m hanging out with my college buddy, working on magic ideas and trying to build the perfect magic show.

I you want to see me in either the UK or Los Angeles – Here’s are the dates: Drop me any email – then com and say hello!

The Session Convention – January 26,27

The Magic Castle: Palace of Mystery – February 18-24

7 Responses to “Lee Asher Comes to Hollywood – All bets are off.”


  1. 1 Sean Rafael January 20, 2008 at 1:38 am

    Oh man I’d love to come see you in Gloucester next week. Sadly £30 is just a tad too much for me haha.

    It’ll be cool to know you’re not too far from where I live though!

    – Sean

  2. 2 africamagik January 20, 2008 at 1:50 am

    I have a question, I am live in North Carolina and was wondering if you ever, end up over any where near the Charlotte area. I would really like to come to any of your lectures.

    -Jon

  3. 3 Matt January 20, 2008 at 1:59 am

    This kind of goes along with the previous post but do you ever come to the east coast at all? I live in Atlanta but it’s not that far of a drive to the neighboring states.

    Cheers!

    -matt

  4. 4 Joe January 20, 2008 at 2:53 am

    And when are you coming back to Virginia!

    – Joe

  5. 5 HANKMILLIGAN January 20, 2008 at 1:31 pm

    “…working on magic ideas and trying to build the perfect magic show.” – those are words to live up to! All the best to you and Lee.

    – Hank

  6. 6 J. Dean January 20, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Asher & Fisher, BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!
    Just kidding, I hope you both are doing well.

    J.Dean

  7. 7 frmad January 21, 2008 at 1:21 am

    This post is very hot, it is high ranked at our site (daily weblog, weblog post ranking site). See http://indirect6.blogspot.com/ for more information


Leave a Reply

