Card Magic in Hong Kong – Mementos from the Asian Magic Association Convention

Several months ago Lee Asher introduced me to Albert Tam. Albert has made a great life in magic. He’s a performer, producer, magic store owner and booking agent. Among his many projects this year, he managed to find time to put on the Asian Magic Association’s yearly convention.

Thankfully, this year Albert and his friends decided to book me to lecture and perform close-up magic at the convention.  I met at least a hundred magicians, saw hours of new magic and had the kind of adventures you only experience when you perform magic on the other side of the globe.

Today I finally had a chance to look at the photos……I hope you enjoy them!

 

The view from the top…

 

DSC00515

 

The AMA Gala – a reserved evening of magic

DSC00560

(Fantasma Magic CEO Roger Dryer, the multi-talented Harry Wong, myself and tormented card star Simon Lovell).

These guys made the convention. Roger Dryer gave me enough Chinese slang to vamp my way through the show. The very solid Harry Wong asked me to shoot a short spot for his TV show and any visit with Simon is like a visit home. When I was 19, I camped out on Simon’s couch for a week while he improved my card magic. Simon is  one of the last real card men – his show earlier that day was a site to behold!

 

Danny Cole: now that’s a magician.

DSC00547 

It’s always a pleasure to see Danny Cole – his original, inventive material and charming approach make him one of the only manipulation acts I really enjoy watching. As per our standard magic convention custom, we were both working all weekend – this was the only time we actually saw each other.

 

The Magic Convention debut of PANIC!

AMA CLOSE UP 13

I got an email recently asking if I still get nervous us before I perform. YES! I woke the morning of the show and realized I had never performed Panic, my new  trick out from Theory 11, in a formal lecture situation.  In this photo, I’m attempting to entertain the audience while trying to teach Panic coherently in under five minutes.  A healthy language barrier always adds a new dimension to the learning process!

If you look front row center, you’ll see International FISM President Eric Eswin….is he smiling?

16 Responses to “Card Magic in Hong Kong – Mementos from the Asian Magic Association Convention”


  1. 1 Paul January 3, 2008 at 11:55 am

    Hi Aaron,

    I am 65 yrs old just started doing card tricks. My wife and I have been Ballroom dancers for about 15 yrs We did 4 showcases and a couple of compititions and lots of lessons. The show cases were just one couple on the floor at a time And we got nervous everytime in the show cases. I really get nervous doing card tricks even with only one or two people. It takes a lot of practice to feel confident in any performance venue. I admire your going to lecture or perform with the language barrier. Happy New yera and looking to find that one great trick.
    Sincerely,
    Paul

  2. 2 Dave January 3, 2008 at 12:36 pm

    Excellent pics…..keep ’em coming….very interesting to see gatherings around the planet!

  3. 3 thecuso January 3, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I wish i could be there…

    btw happy new year man! i have a new blog template for 2008, let me know what do you think and join my Logo contest!

  4. 4 Adrian January 3, 2008 at 1:08 pm

    NOOOOOO! You were in Hong Kong and I missed it?! Dang it. I must have been living under a rock. When is the next time you’re coming to Hong Kong again? I hope it’s soon.

  5. 5 Brett Taylor January 3, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Hey Aaron,

    Happy New Year to you too. I would love to go to a magic convention somewhere outside of Canada. Nice pics. Take it easy and camp is only 7 MONTHS AWAY!

    That’s long but still…

    Brett

  6. 6 Dan January 3, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    Cool Pics. It’d good to know that seasoned magicians still get nervous. It makes me (a beginner) feel better and even a little more confident.

  7. 7 Ben Train January 3, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    Hey man,

    looks like a blast, and I would LOVE to see more photos! I hope no one got hurt when their jaws hit the floor- panic will do that.

    You aren’t hitting up MagiFest (in ohio), are you?

  8. 8 Matt. G January 3, 2008 at 4:08 pm

    Hey Aaron,

    Great to hear that everything went well and exciting for me to hear about a foreign magic convention. I have been to a few small conventions and lectures in my area but I have never traveled abroad to attend one. I’m saving up some money for traveling this summer so if there are any good ones happening in between June to early September let me know. Happy Holidays and here is to making 2008 a magical year!

    Cheers,

    Matt. G

  9. 9 aaronfishermagic January 3, 2008 at 6:30 pm

    Hey Matt,

    Truly, if you’re looking for an international magic convention to get your blood pumping, it’s really hard to top FISM. It’s in China, but its next year, so you’ll have enough time to save up for it. It’s a mind blower.

    If you want to go one step easier, try Blackpool. It’s every year in February in the north of England. It’s just as big as FISM (at least I couldn’t tell the difference), but with more English. If you want to start even easier, try the International Magic Convention in London – its a small, friendly convention, with more than enough great magicians you haven’t yet heard of to show you a good time.

    I’m working at the Session Convention in a few weeks in Gloucester – if you’ve got the time, i’d love to see you there!

    With Thanks,
    Aaron

  10. 10 aaronfishermagic January 3, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Hey Ben,

    Can’t hit Magi-fest, though i would love too. Going to be in the UK – will be there FOR SURE next year.

    Aaron

  11. 11 HANKMILLIGAN January 4, 2008 at 12:46 am

    Thanks Aaron – I’m inspired by the spirit you have for our craft!

    Hank Milligan, New Milford, CT

  12. 12 aaronfishermagic January 4, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Jim,

    That’s one thing I’ve definitely had occasion to notice about blogs, emails and text messages – it’s very hard to read inflection. I’ve known Lee Asher a long, long time. Unless I’m mistaken, I was sure I detected a hint of sarcasm in his post.

    LOL,
    Aaron

  13. 13 KLG January 4, 2008 at 5:48 am

    Too bad I’ve missed your lecture in AMA. Fortunately I made it to your workshop. I’ve learned a lot and had some great fun too. Thanks again!

  14. 14 Tim Ellis January 5, 2008 at 3:55 am

    Aaron, it’s about time you got those pics up! 😉

    It was great to finally meet you at the convention, Sue-Anne and I had a lot of fun over that weekend. See you at IBM/SAM or FISM?

  15. 15 Easan January 6, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Yes, more pics. But also tell us where you’re going beforehand, so if we happen to be nearby, we can catch your act. Good memories hanging out with you at the Hat & Hare, doing tricks for the crowd. best regards, easan

  16. 16 Matt January 6, 2008 at 10:31 pm

    Hey Aaron,

    I’d love to hit up all those conventions, it is just that I’m so busy with school. I’m going to FISM for sure though and I’ll try to get some other ones in before if I get the chance.

    Cheers,

    Matt. G


Leave a Reply

